Senator Tyler Harper

Chairman, Natural Resources and the Environment

Senator Tyler Harper was first elected to the Georgia State Senate on November 6, 2012, and was sworn in to serve Georgia’s 7th Senate District on January 14, 2013. He was re-elected, unopposed, for his second and third terms in 2014 and 2016, respectively. Currently, he serves as Chairman of the Natural Resources and the Environment
Committee and Vice Chairman of the Public Safety Committee. He is also a member of the Appropriations Committee and Agriculture and Consumer Affairs Committee. Senator Harper is a lifelong resident of Irwin County and a proud alumnus of the Irwin County School System. He is also a graduate of the University of Georgia with a Bachelor
of Science Degree in Agricultural Engineering (BSAE) and holds an Associate of Science Degree from Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College.

As a small businessman and farmer, Senator Harper understands and knows firsthand the importance of agriculture and small business to both our state and nation. Since joining the General Assembly, Senator Harper has been a champion for agriculture, natural resources and public safety. He has not only passed numerous pieces of legislation
supporting agriculture and those in the public safety arena, but he is also the host of the annual Law Enforcement Appreciation Day at the Capitol – a time for members of the
General Assembly to recognize and show their support to our State and local law enforcement.

Furthermore, Senator Harper has dedicated many hours to various study committees researching topics such as transportation, rural broadband, and other issues important to the 7th District and the State of Georgia. Along with those study committees, he had the honor of serving, as an appointee of Governor Nathan Deal, on the Governor’s Education Reform Commission, which intently evaluated our state’s education system and funding, was appointed by Governor Deal to the Law Enforcement Task Force and was appointed by Lt. Governor Casey Cagle to serve on the Compensation of Police and Sheriffs (COPS) Task Force.

More Speakers

Toggle Navigation